Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent days, there are those who think that municipal governments do not have a necessary to hold their local libraries because of a widespread network. Though people can read a lot of books online, I disagree with this view, and the reason will be elaborated in enlisted paragraphs. Firstly, technological devices would generate an adverse impact on the ability of studying. This is because children can concentrate on reading and learning with paper rather than with gadgets. According to research done in 2022, there was a gradual decrease in the scores of a Kanzi test in 100 elementary schools in Japan from 2010 to 2020 because many youngsters utilized their laptops or Ipads to memorize Kanzi. Thus, individuals prefer paper books to electoral books for training their calibre and obtaining knowledge. Another key point that I would like to emphasize is the fact that the library is not only a place for reading. It means that citizens can meet there, and they are able to communicate with their friends or families. It creates memorable moments and a more reliable relationship between them. For instance, many retired residents spend many times in a library to relish their own lives such as club activities and chatting with each other. Hence, libraries provide some essential and enjoyable services besides free books. In conclusion, although individuals can harness the progress of technology, libraries are one of the most indispensable facilities in society. Therefore, I disagree with the statement that local governments should stop keeping their libraries.