The growing nuber of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health isssues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the increasing number of overweight people has been an issue that we cannot ignore. This trend causes several problems such as putting a strain on the health care system. In response to this situation, some people state that we should introduce more physical education lessons at schools. This essay will take up this statement and give the author's opinion. First of all, according to research on the correlation between the number of overweight people in a specific area and the number of P.E. classes they had when they were students, we find that there is no correlation between those two elements, which means having more P.E. lessons in the school curriculum doesn't necessarily lead to the improvements of public health. This is because most people quit exercising after they graduate from their school. Thus, the most important thing is to change their ways of thinking about their eating habits. Just offering opportunities to exercise is not enough as a means of solving the health issue. In this sense, I strongly disagree with the statement. Rather, we should provide our young generations with chances they consider their eating habits, such as making their own menu for their dinner and teaching them how their diets influence their future body. To sum up, the growing number of overweight people is one of the serious problems that our society has been facing. As I mentioned above, just increasing the number of physical education classes at schools will never make the situation better. We need more opportunities that change students' minds toward their diets.