Nowadays some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Due to the advent of modern technology, it has been controversial that going on field trips to historical places and art exhibitions is not worthwhile anymore instead, the public can learn about one nation’s heritage and artefacts via internet websites. However, from my perspective visiting museums and art galleries have yet unrevealed potential benefits for the descendants. (56) To begin with, there are fully integrated thousands of unlimited sources on the internet. Firstly, online tour systems enable their users to access any sort of historical sites and legacies regardless of time pressure and situational factors. For instance, spending a considerable amount on travel expenses is an unavoidable element for many tourists especially in order to visit overseas’ public museums such as “Musee du Louvre” in Paris. However, people can encounter those displayed historical objects and work through the homepage or certain websites to synthesise verified information with a high-definition of pictures and video. Secondly, people can focus on a specific time period like Renaissance using online materials so that they study more in-depth a piece of fine art, legendary monuments and sculptures with detailed interpretations by folklore experts. It is because most people in modern society are too busy to enjoy such brilliant our ancestors’ remained handcrafts, even worse they are always chased by time limits and full of tight budget stress. (169) Nevertheless, I still prefer to visit such fantastic historical places where we can feel the spirit of diverse cultural aspects. First of all, one’s genuine experience is not even competitive to any vicarious forms of that. For example, when students learn a foreign language, they may face reaching a certain advanced level which is beyond their ability. In that case, it is easily sorted out by studying the origins of the language spoken country, as they will gain more accurate knowledge of language usage by encountering circumstances abroad. In other words, people can grasp general ideas of some cultural heritage by seeing or watching a piece of pictures or video clips but, they definitely have a sense of emptiness that lack of truly touch their minds. Thus, indirect experiences are existed boundary which deters expand our creativity and emotional moment. That is why people should go on a trip to the various types of museums and exhibitions. (160) In conclusion, although technological advancement can rich our life more convenient in obtaining vicarious experience, it cannot be better than genuine attainment which allows us to give a huge feeling of satisfaction. Hence, many public organisations should encourage people to visit museums and art galleries by providing appropriate promotions. (49)