Many feel that students today should learn practical skills at school such as car maintenance and managing a bank account. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a lot of thinking goes behind what the educational authorities must include in the student’s curriculum so that they get the maximum benefits out of it. It is often argued whether practical skills like car maintenance, cooking, cleaning, and managing bank accounts should be a part of the learning portion in order to ensure the overall development of pupils. I agree with them, and this essay will elucidate my assertions in the forthcoming paragraphs. In general, careful analysis must be done before deciding on the subjects which wards must learn. This is because these impact their lives significantly. Additionally, if these basic knowledge topics form a part of academics, they will definitely be a great learning curve for them as they can generate benefits from it. For instance, if wards go abroad for better opportunities, they must have knowledge and experience to cook, set up and repair things; otherwise, they will face a lot of challenges for a smooth lifestyle. Thus, children will benefit greatly in the future if they have preconceived information about such skills. Apart from that, learning abilities early in life might help them discover their potential. Moreover, this can act as a platform to discover their true interest. For example, if children realise that they enjoy cooking more than anything else, they can consider it either as their hobby or build a career in it which will help them earn money. Therefore, including such skills in academics enhance their hobbies and career prospects. To summarise, including practical skills that are required in our daily lives will help to strengthen not only their knowledge base, which will help them in the future, but also enables them to find out their talent and hobby. Hence, I truly believe that these subjects must form a part of children’s curriculum at school.