The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is quite common these days that most people use social media to interact with others instead of arranging face-to-face conversations. It is my belief that the positive effects of this innovation could certainly offset its disadvantages. There are several drawbacks of this phenomenon. A common issue is that people would lack the necessary interaction with each other in society. This is because social networks create a dependency on modern devices such as smartphones, iPad, laptops, etc instead of communal connections. In fact, people spend a large amount of time surfing the Internet or chatting with peers through online applications. And if some situations happen, all the things we do is block them to relieve waves of anger. Another negative aspect can be that individuals just talk whenever they want. Thus, they find it useless to go outside their homes to meet friends or interact with other people. For example, with the advancement of technology, modern couples meet each other through Tinder and break up with a Messenger text. As a result, we seem to worsen our communication skills and become more isolated in our life. However, in spite of these negative effects, social media can bring about important benefits. One obvious advantage is that social networks could break down geographical barriers no matter how distant it is. It means that thanks to the power of the Internet such as Facebook, Instagram, Zalo, etc, individuals can easily interact with their relatives who live in foreign countries. It is such a convenient and speedy method to make a video call with family members who live apart without wasting any fees. For instance, as reported by Times in 2020, more than 80% of Vietnamese people own a cellphone, compared with only 10% of landline users. Another positive effect is that people could share plenty of information such as videos, voices, or images with other people without any difficulties. In conclusion, technology has a double-edged sword; it allows us to communicate with our beloved ones, but overuse makes us highly dependent on modern devices. From my point of view, it seems to me that the potential benefits of technology are more worthwhile than the possible dangers. Individuals have to be aware of the side effects of social media and take advantage of them.