Some people believe unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes( for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Certain individuals think community services should be free and mandatory part of secondary school courses such as working for a charity, developing the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger ones. I strongly agree as this will help them gain knowledge in different aspects and instil good motive of rendering service. To begin, students should be given the opportunity to learn how to be of help to people around them as this will improve their knowledge and ability to do different types of work that can benefit their society. Also, this can be done by the school administrators by creating a time in the student's timetable for assisting their neighbours in things that will improve their environment to be conducive for living and working for charities will be helpful in enhancing their skills. For example, according to a research study by Williams James states that 86% of students in the USA are able to know more about their society in ways they can be of help and develop their skills with the subject called ' community service ' that was made compulsory in their studies. Furthermore, another reason for learning community service in school as a course is to build the interests of students as they grow to assist people without expecting anything in return or money. Therefore, there will be a great improvement in the world as people learn how they can help their communities and the effects it will have on the people in building good interpersonal relationships making all countries live in peace and harmony. For instance, the educational board in Nigeria has been able to help in the development of the country by making community service a compulsory course for students in secondary school. In conclusion, students in secondary schools should be allowed to learn about free community service as this will develop their knowledge and skills and also make them have an interest in assisting people in their society.