There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, it is a common belief that all academic success leads to a more perspective future, which inevitably creates a lot of pressure for children at school. Due to that fact, numerous adults are convinced that it is worth removing non-academic subjects from students' schedules in order to help them pay more attention to academic ones. In this essay, I will argue that because of the extra stress pupils experience caused by high expectations of their academic performance, not only such subjects as art or physical education would be helpful to release tension, but also to find a passion for those who choose to pursue a more creative or active career. Turning to the constant pressure and comparison children face at school, it might be an additional motivation for some, while for others it would have the opposite effect. Besides it is a well-known fact that permanent tension decreases overall academic performance as it leads to an exhaustion of the nervous system. That is why non-academic subjects are important, they create an environment in which children could take a break and restore their power. There are studies which show that taking a pause to do some physical activity during learning helps to be concentrated afterwards. Other than that there are individuals who tend to express themself more freely as they are more creative and simply learning science or math is not for them as their straight might be sports activities or art. So there is a question, how would those categories of students improve their skills if those subjects were excluded from the syllabus? Furthermore, these subjects help develop such -known soft skills, such as being a team player, communication and problem-solving without which it is almost impossible to become a succusses full person. On balance, non-academic subjects are as much important as academic ones, and could not be removed from the syllabus due to the fact that they help children to release street and as a result be more concentrated, moreover, they are beneficial for children who want to build a more creative career.