Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary epoch, the number of road accidents is growing rapidly. Hence, sparked a debate where some individuals believe that the legal age should be higher to drive any vehicle. I strongly disagree with the statement and will discuss its justification in upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, age is not the major concern with road safety. There are many experiments and reports published in international journals state that a person at age of eighteen years is capable enough to understand all the driving aspects and its laws. For instance, a study from the University of California in 2021 reports that more accidents were reported with the age above thirty. Moreover, it has been seen that the son drives better than his parents. This clearly shows that people aged age 18 to 30 have lower accidental concerns. Hence, road safety issues are not relevant to age rather there can be some other issues that may require fixing to improve road safety. Furthermore, not only age, bad infrastructure can be the real cause and should be fixed to improve road safety. Most of the roads have huge potholes where people suffer from daily accidents and these cases are not registered under any laws. For example, yesterday, a person died by falling down in a pothole filled with rain water while travelling on his bike. Moreover, this is ubiquitous and can be seen in every part of our country. Therefore, the infrastructure is another important aspect that the government should improve in order to upgrade road safety. Thus compared to age, there are many other factors which should be considered. To conclude, I would like to assert that, age is already suitable as per the current law to drive a car or bike, and to improve road safety. There are many other factors to consider specifically the infrastructure.