Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Other believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The way of academic pursuit has diversified, depending on the aspiration of learners. While some university students may pursue multiple subjects to complement their specialised knowledge, others would find it more significant to have single-minded devotion to academic achievements just to obtain a qualification. This essay will explore both of these arguments and conclude with why the latter view is more valid. To begin with the former view, there are those who claim that learning multiple subjects may enable learners to embody a wide variety of knowledge. In today’s extremely variable society, responsiveness to change is one of the aptitudes required for job candidates, which can be obtained by multifaceted knowledge gained at college. In fact, in most situations where people have to solve a problem correlated with science, they will be required to integrate their scientific knowledge and mathematical skills. Turning to the latter learning option, some people hold the view that putting every effort into obtaining a qualification can allow students to procure more prolonged and earnest knowledge in their specialisation, which could open their doors to have better job opportunities after graduation. In some occupations, for instance, the deeper expertise the candidate holds, the more employers would be tempted to choose them. Taking all of the above into consideration, I am firmly convinced that allocating all time and attention to gaining a qualification is more beneficial to ensure the academic success of students. Although having multitalented skills could be hugely advantageous in the job market, the risk of failing a major subject due to a lack of abilities in time management outweighs this advantage. Therefore, I conclude that students should pursue simplicity in their research at university.