Some experts believe that when a country is already rich, any additional increase in economic wealth does not make its citizens any more satisfied. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Economic growth has become one of the top priorities of every state around the world. However, some experts believe that rich countries with any additional increase in economic wealth are unable to create more satisfaction for their citizens. Personally, I hold a different perspective on this notion. On the one hand, it is argued that individuals from improved societies may not experience greater pleasure because of the heavy workload. Due to the tasks of expanding the economy, businesses are required to boost their productivity and foster innovative progress, leading to increased working hours. Therefore, people may have less time for leisure activities, causing a rise in stress and pressure which are the two main indicators when measuring the happiness index in a certain country. For example, despite being the most developed economy in the world, the U.S. has the highest suicide rate globally. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that a growth in the economy is positively associated with greater happiness for several reasons. Firstly, it is undoubtedly that individuals from rich countries have a higher living standard, including better living conditions with modern facilities and more chances to access the top education system and the world-class healthcare system. As a result, the world has witnessed a huge flow of people from underdeveloped and developing regions migrating to developed countries with the hope of a brighter future. Secondly, with a prosperous economy, weahlthy nations can have more resources to overcome social issues, including unemployment, environmental demage and inequality. For instance, during the COVID-19 pandemic, while poorer countries were struggling to meet their residents' basic needs such as food, medicine and accommodation, citizens from richer ones can easily overcome the pandemic thanks to financial support from their governments. In conclusion, though a rise in the economy can lead to a more stressful workload, I firmly assert that this development contributes significantly to individuals' fulfilment thanks to a higher living standard and social issues being addressed. It is advisable that countries should continously improve their economies to enhance the happiness of their citizens.