There are increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some people say that best way wouldbe to use death penalty as a deterrent, many people say thay that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides and opine.

Every year, the number of severe crimes is increasing. Some have the opinion that capital punishment is the best solution for this phenomenon, while others opine that other methods should be used. Although removing criminals off the street can reduce the crime rate, I believe sending them to rehabilitation centres, and providing employment can be the best possible solution. On the one hand, giving death punishment to serious offenders can reduce the crime rate. In other words, criminals would have a fear in mind, if they would commit illegal activity, it might to death punishment. For example, the number of rapes has significantly decreased after Dubai’s government announced that rapists would be hanged in front of their families. However, I believe this would not solve the root cause of the issue, which is changing the mindset of the criminals. On the other hand, sending them to rehabilitation centres can have a massive reduction in future crimes. That is to say, court-of-law should provide another chance to the people who want to become model citizens of society by rehabilitating them. Further, the government should work on increasing job opportunities since these people would be less involved in such crimes. For instance, the Indian government recently announced that murderers would learn about handcraft work and they will be provided lessons related to religion and humanity, it has resulted in fewer murders committed over the last 1 year. Therefore, in my opinion, giving another chance to the criminals in becoming responsible members of society would be more beneficial. In conclusion, despite the fact that severe crimes would reduce by capital punishment, I have the opinion that they should be sent to rehabilitation centres for becoming better citizens of society.