People will buy a product if it has quality or fulfil their needs. There is no need for advertisement. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The driving force for buying any commodity is usually a necessity. It is argued that any item or service will have good sales if it has an excellent build or it relinquishes consumers' necessities and henceforth, the use of commercials would be futile. I disagree with this notion as in my opinion, advertisements are important for raising awareness about the product, whilst also targeting the actual customer base in need. To begin with, even if a product is of the highest quality there is, the customer might not buy it simply because they have no knowledge of the product or its quality. However, the use of marketing has helped curb these issues. Through reviews and other marketing strategies, brands have excelled in improving their purchases, while simultaneously promoting their quality. For example, Samsung reported a rise of 20 per cent in the sales of stainless steel refrigerators after they aired on popular media channels. Thus, with the help of commercials, companies get a chance to promote their best goods. Furthermore, a great number of useful products for a particular demographic are released frequently. However, they are unaware. Ads help these commodities to be utilised to their full potential. For instance, Glucose strips were performing underwhelmingly in the market despite the presence of a large number of diabetics globally. After promoting them, their sales skyrocketed. If it were not for this service, this brilliant invention would have been massively underutilised. In conclusion, advertisements are necessary as they help promote important features as well as focus on the right consumer base. I believe these reasons are important to sell any commodity and that marketing is crucial for them.