Some people think that family has the most powerful influence on a child’s development, while others think that other factors such as television, friend, music have the biggest effects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

There has been a constant debate about whether the family has the biggest impact on children's growth, or whether elements surrounding them have the most powerful influence. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions and give my opinion on this. On the one hand, some people suggest that it is family that has a tremendous impact on a child's life. It is true that children are parents ' reflection. Although there are multiple aspects that may affect a child's opinion and perspective, parents still remain the biggest influence, as they play an irreplaceable role in educating and nurturing a child from birth. For instance, the Harvard Study of Adult Development has shown that warm relationships with parents during childhood are associated with better physical health and emotional well-being in adulthood, highlighting the link between a happy family and a positive child. Thus, it is easy to understand why a number of people hold this side in the debate mentioned. On the other hand, a number of people believe that different social factors heavily impact children. Nowadays, with the development of the Internet comes the high level of exposure of kids to TV shows, trends and music. For example, according to the Kaiser Family Foundation, children aged 8-18 spend on average over 7.5 hours a day consuming media, including television. This is often more time than they spend with their parents during weekdays. As a result, it is evident that a majority of people find the relationship and similarities between kids and online entertainment clear. In conclusion, while both sides have reasonable explanations and solid proof for their beliefs, I strongly argue that parents are still the primary source of influence in terms of their offspring's development, as they are the primary caregivers and role models and responsive parenting, where parents are attentive to their child ’s needs and cues, promotes secure attachment and healthy emotional development.