Write about the following topic: ‘It is important for foreigners to know something about the history and culture of the country they live in.’ Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often stressed that foreigners must have a basic knowledge about the country where they are supposed to live. Since such insight into the host nation tends to provide fruitful information that is helpful to stay there for a long period of time while connecting with the public. Firstly, history and culture are considered pivotal tools to explore any nation. Through history, ideology, political, and social values of any nation can be gauged, and it is a handy tool to deep dive into the host nation ’s priorities and ethics. It gives us a picture of their origin, their past, and how they have transformed themselves throughout the ages, and is it moving in the right direction or still searching for the basic need? For Example, often the delegates of other countries are keen to attend any event aimed at exploring the historical prospects of the host country. Furthermore, enrichment with culture opens new avenues of knowledge of their lives and livelihood. Such interaction also portrays the different traditions, and cultures, that are practised in the country. Moreover, cultural events are often organized and are considered a prime reason to enhance our connectivity with the local community. Since such interactions are useful tools to make new friends, overcome language barriers, learn their languages, and reduce cultural differences. For instance, knowing the German language while staying in Germany offer more benefits in term of study and job. To sum up, culture and tradition are also great sources to promote the soft image of a country, therefore, it is of great value to have a sound knowledge of the nation where you are residing, as it opens more avenues for you regarding employment, engagement, and life experience.