In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations

It is true that in many industrialized countries, people tend to live longer than before. However, undoubtedly, this trend will lead to a number of negative impacts. In order to solve these, governments should have some efficient measures. There are some potential consequences of the increase in average life expectancy. Firstly, when the number of people at retirement age increases, there will be more financial burden on both the government and younger individuals. This is because those in these ages will be eligible to receive their pension. Moreover, the young workforce will be fewer than the retired one. As a result, there will be more burden on the authorities and they therefore have to impose higher taxes on people still working. Furthermore, individuals have to take care of their elderly relatives, which will partly make them struggle to balance work and life Obviously, to deal with these detrimental effects, the government should put more effort into practising these solutions. At first, they should raise the age of retirement in order to reduce the amount of pension that they have to pay. It is undeniable that many elderly workers are still healthy enough to do their jobs efficiently and productively thanks to better living standards and healthcare. In addition, the authorities should pay more attention to funding for healthcare, housing and transport infrastructures which can improve the living quality without putting too many levies on the country’s workforce instead of other unnecessary fields. In conclusion, although the rising rate of older citizens leads to a variety of negative results, these can be tackled with the effort and possible solutions of the administration