Online learning is becoming more common. Do the benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

Studying online is becoming increasingly popular, each year more students opt to study online rather than attending classes on campus. There are some reasons why studying online is more advantageous than attending classes on campus. On the one hand, it is more convenient, students do not have to travel in order to attend a lecture or tutorial. Students usually spend long hours every week travelling to classes. By having classes from their homes they can not only save travel time but also money on transport tickets. Furthermore, they can avoid having to be out when the weather conditions are not convenient for being outside. For instance, according to a recent quiz, 22% of the students in Australia said that they prefer this way of learning, as they feel more focused and comfortable at home than in class. On the other hand, technology is good enough to enable people to learn more effectively. Indeed, online learning has been increasing in effectiveness since 2005. Hence, the possibility to record the classes and be able to watch them again, allow students to not lose anything important that was being taught. One research article suggests that many countries from South America have the possibility to complete a degree without having to attend classes at universities. To conclude, although physical classes allow you to meet face-to-face with the professor, and also interact with your peers, online learning benefits outweigh the drawbacks because of their convenience and effectivenesses, that is the reason why many people opt for online courses.