You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that it is essential to include Physical Education classes in the curriculum for all school-age children. Others think that children's time is better spent on more academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. You should write at least 250 words. You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

The modern age folks give a lot of importance to education. Many people believe that education not only helps in gaining intellectual knowledge and getting a well-paid job but also in increasing the social status of a human being. Although I agree with the fact that education is crucial, I strongly believe that subjects like sports and physical education should also be a part of a child's daily curriculum. There is a section of people that believes that playing sports is a waste of time as it diverts their children's minds from studies. Parents have certain expectations from kids and want them to pursue certain subjects with better careers. They also believe that education expands their options and makes them eligible for highly-paid jobs in the future. However, sometimes it does not work in the offspring's favour as some students are not very academically inclined and they should be given the choice to choose another vocation. For instance, many brilliant sportsmen claim that they did not perform well in their studies and still excelled at their respective fields, since they got a chance to pursue it. Secondly, at a crucial age such as a child, sports help in physical and mental growth. It has been evident that children who are physically active have healthy body mass index and bone density. Moreover, games in the playground are fun sessions to learn discipline, self-control and teamwork. To set an example, many Western countries like the UK are making physical education mandatory in school, regardless of how children perform in them. Furthermore, these values not only enhance confidence during school but also help them as an adult when they are faced with bigger challenges. To conclude, physical education should be a mandatory part of a child's education because sports make a person healthier which leads to an increased life span and turn children into physically and mentally strong adults.