some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foriegn language at primary school rather than secondary school. do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There are experts who believe that it is beneficial for young students to learn a foreign language in the early stage of their studies. Although there are disadvantages involved in this suggestion, I believe that the advantages outweigh the downsides. On the negative side, there are drawbacks to this plan. The most justifiable argument is concerned with the student's ability in their mother tongue. That is to say, if students learn another language at school, they cannot learn their first language properly. A good illustration of this is bilingual students who have a partial understanding of both languages. This in turn may cause them to face difficulties to understand other subjects like history and mathematics. Young students, furthermore, may feel severe pressure as a result of learning two languages at the same time. One outcome would be they become reluctant to pursue their education. However, advocates of the idea of a compulsory second language scheme for primary students assert that students can be benefited from such plans in many ways. To begin with, students can learn a foreign language faster. Having more energy and enthusiasm, young students are capable of learning a language in a shorter period compared to older students. For example, many primary school students around the world have learned two languages in less than a year. nevertheless, it would be impossible for a secondary school student to learn a foreign language at this pace. Moreover, primary school pupils have more time to spend learning new languages as they do not have to work on demanding projects and essays. In contrast, secondary schools are tied with many obligations. In conclusion, some people assert that learning a foreign language in primary schools may be harmful to students as it might put them under severe pressure, and they are less likely to learn their first language thoroughly. Others including me argue that based on the plus sides of this plan such as more efficiency among young students in learning a new language, the benefits outweigh the downsides.