Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Some environmentalists claim that law enforcement should be engaged at the early stage of cycling, whereas some citizens criticize its pivotal impacts on their daily life. In my opinion, I side with the latter idea and in the following essay, I will elaborate more on the reasons. To commence with, it can lead to detrimental impacts on public facilities. For example, if officers returned from work tiredly with the need to categorize their rubbish carefully, they might turn to throw it in trash cans on the streets or the ones in public transportation. This can degrade the tidiness of public areas, sometimes even making the tourists escape from the cities. Moreover, in order to avoid violating the laws, citizens might try to hide or bury bags of rubbish somewhere in rural places, like parks or hills, and thereby cause further diseases or other health issues. In other words, enforcement without proper education at the same time can lead to disastrous consequences. Although some councillors believe regulations can be the most cost-effective way to make people obey the rule, they can put a heavy burden on residents. For instance, as most people might be unwilling or have no time to change their daily routines, they might probably call housework companies for help. Thus, the cost and spending on processing garbage will be raised as a whole. In conclusion, compulsory regulations should be carefully considered as they can cause a reduction in tidiness of the public areas. Under extreme circumstances, they even lead to severe health problems.