These days many children spend a great deal of time sitting in from of a television. Some people believe that parents should strictly limit the time that children spend watching TV as it is harmful to their development. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays children tend to spend a huge proportion of their time watching TV programmes. Some people believe that parents should take measures to avoid children from this harmful behaviour. I completely agree and believe that the time children spend watching TV should be limited by their parents. The most compelling reason to support this idea is concerned with children's health. Simply put, if children watch TV for long hours instead of doing physical activities, the inevitable outcome will be numerous health issues. A good illustration of this is the increasing rate of obesity among young children. This in turn will result in many severe illnesses such as diabetes and heart problems. To avoid these problems, parents should encourage children to leave the television and do more physical activities. Another rational justification to persuade children not to watch TV for long hours is related to children's education. Wasting hours watching movies and animations, most students may face difficulties in studying. Take a student who did not do his homework as a result of dedicating his time to watching television as an example; he is most probable to perform badly in final exams. Poor performance in the final exams may cause they do not pursue their education. As a result, they are less likely to find a decent job and earn enough salary. To sum up, it is completely justifiable that parents devise strict rules to deprive children of watching TV since the children's health may be adversely affected, and their future will be devastated as they cannot manage their time to study well.