The exploration and development of safe alternatives to fossil fuels should be the most important global priority today. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

The use of fossil fuels as a source of energy has been increasing since the industrial revolution began. There is a view that the most important step we can take today is to prioritise research and development into other forms of energy which are safe. In my view, I completely agree that we need to halt extraction of fossil fuels while also investing more heavily in greener energy sources. The first step in curbing the damage caused by fossil fuel use must be to phase out extraction and use. That is, mining, fracking, deep sea drilling and other methods need to be stopped in order to end the damage such activities cause to ecosystems and the atmosphere. Indeed, ending oil drilling alone would greatly reduce the risk of environmental disasters such as the BP spill in the Gulf of Mexico which had a catastrophic and far-reaching impact on marine life, air and water quality. The burning of coal and use of petrol, oil and gas in industry and transport also contributes to the greenhouse gases that are causing climate change and poor air quality globally. Clearly, steps need to be taken to eliminate these sources of energy and promote alternatives. To replace fossil fuels, greener energy sources must be further developed. Currently, although solar, wind and hydro power systems are available, they are not yet able to provide the vast quantities required to keep nations supplied with their energy requirements. Solar panels, for instance, are still prohibitively expensive for many households and businesses to install. Wind power too has limitations in terms of energy production and reliability; it only works when the wind blows. Unless these alternatives are improved, and made more affordable, it will simply not be possible to end fossil fuel use. Investment, not only by governments, but also by organisations and individuals, is crucial to bridge this gap. In conclusion, improving ways of producing energy other than by the use of fossil fuels is of paramount importance today. Given that it is currently not possible to rely fully on green energy, greater investment is urgently needed.