Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school. Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people prefer homeschooling for their children's education, and some other people find school education crucial. While this is a debatable topic, there are certain advantages to both these methods. Homeschooling aims at a focused learning approach, whereas going to a school provides a wholesome learning environment with other children. I find the formal school education method to be the most helpful for the overall development of a child. Teaching children at home provides parents with the option to identify their children's talents. In this way, they can help their children to understand and acknowledge their own talent and work towards mastering it. For example, someone naturally gifted with mathematics can be provided with appropriate coaching to delve into the intricacies as well as advanced concepts of mathematics. This focused learning approach accelerates results, which can boost the confidence of the child to even consider making a career in it going forward. Conversely, formal school education has its own merits. It offers a wide variety of environments for a student to experience and learn from. I studied in a school setup which not only taught me general subjects but also provided me with the opportunity of learning from peers. It polished my communication and people skills. Since, they conduct regular exams, it helps students to grow their ability to work under pressure, which is imperative to their development as it prepares them to face the real world. The increasing popularity of home education has not undermined the age-old practice of going to school as both intend to accomplish the best for the children. However, I truly believe school education to be more effective than home education. This is because it has a lot more to offer than just bookish knowledge. Children gain perspective, build personality based on their varied experiences at school and this is significant for their overall development.