Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe the governing bodies of a country should try to limit the import of international food and try to produce all items within the realm. Although this promotes the economic growth of the nation by minimising the expensive imports, I strongly disagree with this as it poses more problems than solutions. One such problem is depriving the nation of a balanced diet that comes from ingredients from all over the world. Local produces are beneficial both to farmers and to the government for multiple reasons. Firstly, it helps farmers with opportunities of increasing their income in order to fulfil their homeland's demand. Secondly, it becomes easy to analyze the demand based on a populace, which in turn drives the supply of the products ensuring minimal food waste. For example, this due to can prove to improve the economy as both local production and consumption can effectively restore cash flow. However, the world is vast with distinct landscapes and climatic conditions scattered across different countries. This makes it impossible to grow all the vegetables and cattle to meet the nutritional needs of the human body. This is the reason, international food is a must-have for sustainable development. For instance, Greenland survives largely on imported foods; this is because it is impossible to grow vegetables or farm animals due to its severe cold weather. To summarize, feeding a population with local produce is suggested as it contributes towards the growth of a community. It also reduces cross-country dependencies and aims at financial improvement. I, however, completely disagree as it might lead to depriving folks of all the vitamins and minerals which might not be possible to grow due to the climatic conditions of a region.