People in all modern societies use drugs, but today's youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the causes and some effects of widespread drug use by young people in modern day society. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

The first thing most people do when falling sick is to take OTC drugs to ease their sickness. Nowadays, taking drugs for purposes other than medical prescriptions is becoming popular in society, especially among teenagers. According to researchers, this habit is mainly influenced by bad examples from parents and other individuals in the community. Before trying to tackle such an issue, we need to understand the reasons for drug abuse, and the effects of this phenomenon on modern society. We often hear of famous celebrities passing away from drug abuse or mistakenly taking extra tablets with the hope of relieving stress related to work or more personal problems like relationships. Increased life demands and responsibilities come with a price. Many young adults these days tend to use drugs when they feel stressed. However, this may lead to unfortunate results. For instance, frequent intake of certain tablets can become an addiction and might reflect negatively on one product, and in turn, on society. Besides stress, many pharmaceutical corporations are taking advantage of this phenomenon by exploiting the market with a variety of drugs that can be easily obtained from any pharmacy in the area. Therefore, many teenagers are getting exposed to such pills whether during school days or during summer break when partying. Many communities in recent decades suffer from increased crime rates due to the spread of illegal drugs among youth. Criminal organizations are utilizing kids and establishing a network of distribution to sell their illegal products like weapons, stolen items and drugs. This has dramatically reduced the safety environment of such areas. In addition to high crime rates, many people find themselves unemployed due to the misuse of drugs. It is common for many organizations to do periodic drug testing that targets employees in order to keep the firm reputation. That being the case, it is important to stress the long-term effects of drug abuse in society and how can criminals thrive in such societies creating an unfriendly atmosphere and many people losing their jobs. Many measures can be implemented with the aim of decreasing drug intake among the young population. Firstly, parents need to build a truthful relationship with their children for easy communication. Additionally, parents must understand the risks of using OTC drugs in front of their kids, as this might encourage them to use these pills. Secondly, policymakers should address this issue soon by setting new regulations to target corrupt drug -selling companies by introducing huge fines or even imprisonment if they continue their illegal practices. In Summary, drug usage is a common phenomenon,especially in young generations. Increased life demands can lead to stress which is a pathway for bad habits of drug intake while pharmaceutical firms are taking advantage of this habit by selling to the public. As a result, communities suffer from a high number of offenders and decreased job opportunities. To tackle the issue, family bonding between parents and children should be encouraged and decision-makers fight off corrupted corporations.