In many countries plastic bags are the main source of rubbish causing pollutions in oceans and on land; therefore they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Nowadays, it is an increasing number of people use plastic bags. The more people use plastic bags, the more rubbish causes pollution. Thus, plastic bags become the main source of pollution and should be banned. However, I firmly agree that plastic bags should be banned for two main reasons. The main reason is harmful to marine life. Many people do not think too much about the environment, they can throw their plastic bags anywhere such as rivers. The plastics that float in the river can end on the sea. Animals can consume plastics and it is harmful to their bodies. For illustration, a whale died near the sea because of consuming a lot of plastics. As a result, the number of sea animals will decrease annually. The following reason is people feel reluctant to recycle plastic bags. People can get plastic bags whenever they buy groceries and their needs. They tend to collect it without trying to use it for another purpose. By having too many plastic bags, people can throw them easily on their rubbish. For illustration, plastic waste from households become the main source of pollution. Consequently, plastic bags will accumulate and need a very long time to decompose. To sum up, plastic bags become the main issue in society. It can cause many drawbacks such as being harmful to the environment and marine life. Nevertheless, people do not have the awareness to recycle their plastic bags. They tend to collect or throw it into the trash. That is why I am strongly convinced that plastic bags should be banned.