Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is generally believed that increasing the minimum lawful age of drivers is the most effective solution to enhance road safety. While this is true due to the increasingly prevalent lack of careful and responsible young commuters, I partly disagree with this idea and suggest two other feasible solutions that can be implemented by the government to ease road unsafety. On the one hand, increasing the minimum legal driving age can act as a contributor to mitigating the global traffic congestion. In fact, traffic accidents are likely to occur due to the flexibility of the legal driving age regulation in some regions in the world. Therefore, when the strict driving age law is implemented, it can deter immature and unaware young commuters from reckless driving actions by preventing them from driving in the streets. Increasing the minimum legal age for drivers can also be reasonable because when people get older, they are more careful and responsible for what they think and act, especially when they are in traffic, which can create a safer driving environment for other commuters. On the other hand, I believe this is not the most optimal proposal and suggest two other viable measures that can be taken by governing bodies. Chief of these is that the authorities should enact more strict punishments for drivers who violate traffic safety. For instance, they have to pay a monetary fine and compensation when they are not wearing a helmet and cause an accident that can result in damage to other vehicles or personal injury. Worse still, their driving licenses can be withdrawn and invalidated for a long period of time. Hence, commuters can be more responsible for their driving actions to prevent any severe punishments, which can have a huge positive influence on their lives. Another step that can solve this situation is improving the public transport infrastructure. By updating such infrastructures, more and more commuters will find it efficient and tend to choose buses or trains as their primary means of transport. Consequently, it acts as a precursor to alleviating traffic congestion as well as greater security on the road In conclusion, people suppose that increasing the minimum driving age can be the most optimal step to mitigate the lack of road safety in the contemporary world. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that there are other viable solutions to tackle this problem, including ordaining more stringent punishments and enhancing public transport infrastructure. From my perspective, I reckon that this issue can be easily tackled in the near future with these efforts.