The world natural resources are consumed at an ever-increased rate. What are the causes of this situation? What are the solutions?

More and more resources of the Earth are consumed by humans. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, governments can take steps to mitigate these potential problems. When the increasingly high level of exploitation of natural resources could be ascribed to a number of causes, several remarkable issues can be anticipated. The main issue is the tremendous demand for resources in developing countries, such as China and Brazil. The citizens of these countries are becoming increasingly wealthy, and they may now afford a living standard that is associated with a higher level of resource consumption. For example, this is the widespread use of cars among tens of millions of middle-income Chinese nationals, which may have contributed substantially to the burning of oil on a global scale. Another matter could be that the exploitation of resources is intense, especially in developing countries. This could lead the over-dependence on natural resources, such as fossil fuels. There are a couple of feasible remedies that authorities could adopt to tackle the problems described above. First and foremost, a simple, yet effective solution would be that reduce the demand for resources in developing countries. This can be done by mass-producing energy-efficient products. The second plausible measure that could be a more sustainable solution is to lower the reliance on natural resources by taking advantage of alternative sources. For instance, wind and tidal power in the Netherlands, nuclear power in Japan and solar power in the United States have all proven their efficiency in energy production. To sum up, it can be concluded that there are naturally several matters regarding this. However, urgent and immediate actions ought to be applied to tackle the aforementioned problems.