Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Evidence suggests that nowadays, there are more multinational association working in developing companies. Although there are benefits involved in this trend, the disadvantages are by no means negligible. On the plus side, the benefits of international companies are manifold. To begin with, these companies provide economic opportunities for people living in developing countries. That is, the more multinational companies are established in a country, the more the country is bound to flourish. A good illustration of this is more capital is diverted to these poor countries. This in turn will result in more jobs for the unemployed population. Moreover, international groups bring their technologies to developing countries, so local associations would be benefited as well. However, the negative side cannot be ignored. The most obvious disadvantage is concerned with local businesses. Because international companies have more economic strength, many of them are not capable of competing with their powerful rivals. Take the Russian companies which were really weak after collapsing the Soviet Union as an example. The majority of them failed as a result of multinational companies. Furthermore, many of the companies are run by foreigners who do not have a thorough understanding of the country in which they found their new branch. Hence, the managers may behave in a way that employees find offensive. This may cause conflicts in the workplace. In conclusion, having more multinational associations in a developing country would be beneficial for the local people as it brings economic prosperity. Having said that, they may be harmful to such countries since many local businesses cannot continue to work in this competitive market.