Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the prices for university fees grew and the job market became even more competitive than it had been earlier, some people believe that theoretical subjects, such as art history for example, should be excluded from universities in order to study more practical subjects and get skills which will increase the chances of getting a well-paid job. Although I believe that we still need to provide an opportunity for studying social and historical studies, I totally agree that the number of practical courses should be increased. Specialized education in fields like IT should focus on practical subjects rather than offering unrelated courses, such as philosophy or history, to maximize career prospects. Providing a curriculum rich in relevant IT courses enhances the likelihood of securing suitable employment for students pursuing practical specializations. My own experience during my bachelor's degree involved numerous theoretical subjects that, although broadening my knowledge, proved unapplicable in the professional sphere. Consequently, I had to supplement my education with online courses to acquire the skills necessary for my initial job. Moreover, the educational system is built in such a way that it often contains base theoretical subjects during the first two years of a bachelor's degree and practical courses start only during the third year. Because of such a system, students are unable to find an internship related to their study field during the first part of their degree. However, when they try to find a job after finishing university, most employees ask them to have at least some experience. To sum up, I side with the statement that more practical courses should be provided at universities instead of theoretical ones. It would help students avoid such problems as being unable to find a job or an internship, lack of knowledge and also losing motivation while studying something that they will never apply during their career.