More and more people are finding it increasingly important to wear fashionable clothes. Is this attitude to wearing clothes a positive development or negative?

The physical appearance of a person is the first trait noticed by others. Nowadays, for many, it is of paramount importance to dress in trendy outfits. Although one should always attempt to look their best, they should not consider purchasing new clothes often, if the factor for spending is, fashion. In my opinion, this is more of a detrimental characteristic. On the one hand, dressing fashionably requires work, it helps to make a good impression. This helps them on many different occasions. Furthermore, one has to stay on top of trends, which requires research. Notably, young adults build up the majority of the audience at fashion shows. Additionally, those who wear fashionable clothes are those who put a good amount of thought into their appearance and hence, make a good first impression. Indeed, this helps them in various fields like education, meetings, and interviews. On the other hand, change in fashion trends happen often, and keeping up with them costs a lot of money as well as mental energy. For instance, the label brand, Tom Ford, upgrades its designs on a quarterly basis, and each of these designs is expensive. Unfortunately, the common man cannot afford these prices and is frustrated by his inability to keep up. Moreover, the obsession to wear the latest clothing items leads to compulsive buying, affecting the buyer. Also, the consumer might feel inadequate for failure to purchase the latest in fashion. Old clothes might go unworn for long periods of time as they would be considered unfashionable. This would be a waste of financial and clothing resources. In conclusion, this essay does not support the increasing craze for fashionable outfits. Although the fashionable choice may have some clear benefits, the drawbacks of financial, mental, and other resources eclipse them. It might be a good step to educate the public to dress appropriately for different events, while simultaneously educating them about thoughtful buying.