Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

People have been too reliant on moulded items like nylon or PVC to contain and store food and drinks. This has detrimental effects on the environment, but steps can be taken to tackle the problem. The issues caused by plastic -related packages are many. Firstly, when being buried under the ground, they decompose extremely slowly and thus hinder the soil to absorb the nutrient it needs, and this harms plants and vegetation. Secondly, nylon trash which is dumped into the ocean becomes toxic food for the sea creatures and animals and hampers them from receiving oxygen. As a result, many ocean creatures are being killed, and the marine ecosystem is being threatened. Finally, when being burned, plastic -related products emit carbon dioxide which pollutes the air and causes global warming. The problem of elastic containers can certainly be improved. I believe the solutions must start with governments, who have to propagate the consequences of those products to raise awareness among people. In addition, high taxes should be imposed to restrict the production and use of plastic packaging. If all of those methods are useless, legislative action can be applied, as many parts of the world have banned the use of plastic packaging. Individuals can help by reusing plastic packaging as much as possible and replacing those with environmentally friendly products such as paper bags instead of nylon bags or ceramic mugs rather than plastic cups. In conclusion, the environment will be continued to be harmed by plastic packages unless governments take action by more propagation, tax imposition and legal application, and individuals change their plastic -using habits.