Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Whether prosperous sport events are crucial in order to improve international relationships and exude patriotic feelings in a healthy manner is one of the recurrently discussed matters nowadays. It is indubitable that sporting occasions such as the football World Cup has become widespread in recent times. However, there are opposing beliefs regarding the importentness of them. This essay will take both point of views into consideration and conclude. On the one hand, it is a frequently held consensus that viewing sports programmes is a method of releasing individuals emotions in a safe way. Watching these events can lead to a spark of adrenaline within people. By rooting for their team of choice, the general public may feel a weight off their shoulders. A good case in point is the fact that shouting is a superb method of exuding built up anger and negativity. Some may consider it as a form of therapy. Studies recommend to scream into a pillow instead of lashing out on someone. The same logic can be applied to whenever sport enjoyers watch a match of their preferred game. On the other hand, sporting events might derive to a segragation of cultures. Since most sports consist of two opposite teams, there is a division and bias between the fandom. This has grave consequences. Take for example the time the capital city of Spain was trashed by the French locals because the team "Barcelona" was victorious in a football game. Ultimately, this resulted in a puny altercation amongst the two nationalities. To sum up by taking everything into account, sporting occasions have both pros and cons. If human beings become more tolerant towards the idea where something could happen not in their favour, I concur with the opinion that sporting organizations have a major merit for society.