The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a cultural tendency of spreading English around the world, turning it into a global language, which has many benefits but also causes some negative impacts on people from other nations. In my opinion, I consider that English ’ spread is unstoppable as it comes naturally with the globalization process. Likewise, analysing its pros and cons, I believe that it is much more beneficial for global communication. To begin with, the globalization process brought the English ’ spread around the globe as a common way of communication being something very helpful for travellers, multinational companies and numerous industries. For example, the tourism industry has a predominance of English, and even airports have English signs, contributing to the understanding and practical communication among different cultures and languages. That is why I consider so beneficial the increase in the usage of the English language around the globe, in order that other language speakers can interact with each other using a common one. On the other hand, English spreading is also bringing with it some negative impacts. For instance, it has been claimed that culture and languages rather than English are losing their identity as typical words, customs and expressions are being replaced by English ones, causing a sense of cultural invasion for many nations. This is something definitely critical to deal with, as this globalization process is already a fact and it would not stop, which means that every nation would need to focus on how can they revert this situation to not lose their characteristic culture. In conclusion, English spreading is being more frequent and is reaching every corner of the world, bringing with it some drawbacks like losing cultural identity for some countries. However, even if there are some negative effects related to this, we cannot deny the excessive benefits that this common way of communication is bringing to us, which means that English as a global language outweighs by far its disadvantages.