Some people believe that teaching music in schools is a vital part of growing up and the human experience, whilst other believe that teaching music in schools is a waste of time and resources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have contradictory views about whether schools should teach pupils music or not. While teaching music is beneficial to some extent, I believe it is not necessary for it to be a subject at schools. On the one hand, it is accepted that learning music at school has some advantages for students. Firstly, it is the time for them to relax and unwind, as schoolwork is sometimes overloaded and overwhelming. Secondly, music can connect students with the same interest, and this, therefore, can keep young people away from bad fellows. Finally, it may help children develop innate genius, and many music bands have come from schools. For example, The Beatles, The Rolling Stone or Boys II Men are bands that were founded at schools. On the other hand, teaching music at academic institutions proves meaningless. The school curriculum is often full, and there is no time for less important subjects. Instead, children should learn science lessons such as maths, physics or languages which have practical usefulness for students later on. In addition, not many children are musically enthusiastic, and these pupils are reluctant to study this subject. I remember being taught singing when I was a schoolgirl, and I felt it so tedious that I gained nothing from learning it. Furthermore, if offspring show musical talent, parents can register them at the musical academy outside class time. There are a lot of specialists, who specialize in training in this field. In conclusion, I would argue that it is not a good idea to list music as a school subject.