Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Throughout the years, the world has changed dramatically, and still continues to adjust to recent changes. With modern developments and technology arising, some say that learning from the past is unnecessary for today. On the other hand, Yigal Alon, an Israeli politician once said "A nation that does not know its past, lives in a present of little substance and its future is clouded in doubt". In my view, history has a vital part in our lives and is a powerful source of information in order to achieve the meaning of human life. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of this issue and will further explain my belief. Firstly, learning about the old days can prevent us from making previous mistakes. Throughout the globe's existence, many mistakes occurred by the responsibility of humankind, such as wars, genocides and other terror acts. By learning and acknowledging past mistakes, people nowadays can know better, avoid making the same previous horrors and improve as a whole. For example, each year the entire world mentions a memorial day of the Holocaust. Consequently, educating people about the Jewish genocide and teaching them about the horrors that were by the time the war took place forces them to do what’s possible in order to avoid another murderous war. Furthermore, learning about the past can donate to us in a cultural way. History is being taught in different scopes, such as art, music, theatre and more, As a result, history is all around us and makes our life richer with an amazing culture that was created decades or even centuries ago. Imagine studying romance plays without acknowledging “Romeo and Juliet”, or going to a museum that is not willing to exhibit Van Gogh’s ‘Starry Night’, it’s simply impossible. Therefore, If we avoid engaging in History, we will have a massive withdrawal of great culture. For instance, when I learned Theater in high school, the first play that was taught was King Eodipus, a Greek tragedy that counts as the start of theatre itself. Having not learned that play would have made my education poor and will lack incredible literature. Nevertheless, many state that learning about the past life is irrelevant, since technological advancements affected the world. With social media, computers and other technological processes, the world has tremendously shifted to a new generation and is significantly different from what it was 100 or even 50 years ago. Along with the advancements that came with the improved world, new problems have arisen, such as an increased number of car accidents and suicide rates, climate change and the environmental crisis and different political scandals that lead to a split in society. Since the old world didn't experience those specific problems, some claim that we have nothing to learn from history. While it is true that today's problems are different than yesterday’s, I tend to concede and believe that history is repeating itself, if we don't listen to the older and wiser, other difficulties will arise. In conclusion, while the current state of the globe is much different from the last centuries, in my view, history is a valuable source of knowledge, and learning it can definitely benefit the world's population.