Some people say that the main environmental problem in our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Other say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both sides of these views and give your own opinion.

It is often said that the major environmental problem in our era is the extinction of plants and wildlife. However, this issue is not entirely straightforward, and in other states, we face more serious issues. in my opinion, the extinction of special species of biota is important but we are confronting some more important environmental problems like global warming. I will discuss both sides of the debate and give my view in the following. On the one hand, those who support the loss of some special type of flora and fauna as the main ecological challenge in our era, point out its effects on the food chain. To extend, they say that, this biological loss is a grave threat to food security because as species go extinct, they are taken out of the food chain. Animals that ate the newly-extinct species have to find new food sources. This can damage the populations of other plants or animals. Furthermore, if a predator goes extinct, its prey population can proliferate, unbalancing local ecosystems. therefore, less biodiversity means less of plants, animals, and microorganisms that are critical to pollination, cleaning water, and keeping soil fertile. That makes it harder for the agriculture industry to grow the crops that are needed to feed our ever-growing population. On the other hand, people who claim that we are facing more important environmental problems cite the global warming effects on the climate and different ecosystems. In other words, global warming might be the main reason for any chaos in the world. for example, global warming changes the climate pattern, like in the ocean, rising temperatures, increase the risk of irreversible loss of marine and coastal ecosystems. Thus, this needs to be taken into consideration. I believe global warming is the most important environmental problem because this is the main reason for other environmental concerns. Thus, to remedy this problem governments need to take serious steps, not only invest more in conservation efforts for decreasing house gases but also work towards long-term reforms related to fossil fuels, carbon emissions, and the other apparent catalysts for climate change.