In some societies, more and more people are choosing to live on their own? What are the reasons people choose to do this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

In many cultures, an increasing number of people are opting to live by themselves for a myriad of reasons like privacy, independence, and a sense of responsibility among others. In my view, this is a good development as it provides many learning opportunities. To begin with, living by themselves grants people privacy and more independence, which are an individual's rights. Many individuals grow up in a household where the concept of privacy is non-existent, and where there are many stringent rules to control the youngster. This move to stay apart from their families helps the individual attain this right. In particular, young adults who stay with their families are reluctant to bring their dates home, as they fear that they will be judged in their households. This fear is curbed by staying apart, and this allows the youngster to date carefree. Furthermore, all the responsibilities of the household lie on one's own shoulders if they are living by themselves. The person has to take care of all the utilities and maintenance of the place. For example, if a tap were to leak, the resident can not rely on anyone else and has to repair it or call the plumber by themselves. Similarly, all the fiscal responsibilities fall on this person. Failure to step up leads to more problems. However, this teaches the individual to be more responsible, which is beneficial in the long run. In my opinion, separating from society to live on one's own, needs courage and character to step up to these responsibilities. Moreover, this allows people to be responsible for their own well-being, which poses a good challenge for a better future. A common worry is the fear of failing and losing touch with their communities, but these problems can be tackled with determination and encouragement, and regular contact with their families via different communication channels such as, voice calls and video calls. In conclusion, the benefits of living on one's own weigh more than the drawbacks. This is because the negatives can be curbed with effective steps.