Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can be better for their overall skills development and creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree?

These days, some people argue the need for doing enjoyable activities with their children to improve kids’ overall skills development and originality rather than reading with them. I am largely in agreement with this view. That is because while joyful activities always help children to stay healthy mentally and physically, doing only reading might cause childhood obesity and isolation. To begin with, some individuals think that parents can help their children's entire skills and creative development by doing enjoyable activities with them such as sports and arts. For instance, children who do sports with parents or friends on a regular basis can improve their physical health. Indeed, a majority of parents in South Korea try to take their children to soccer clubs to build their kids' healthy fitness. Children can also develop their social skills by doing team sports since they have to play together with other friends. Furthermore, if children do artistic activities such as drawing, sketching and painting, they will definitely improve their creativities including keeping mental health. Doing arts always helps young people imagine interesting thoughts and feel relaxed and therapeutic. However, although reading with children is beneficial to develop their imagination or originality, this might cause serious obesity. Nowadays, childhood obesity is a severe problem in our society. If children read books with their parents or friends all the time at home or school, they can gain a lot of weight. It will lead them to serious obesity. Interestingly, obesity can bring other diseases such as diabetes, and cardiovascular ailments. So parents should be careful of their children's reading time. Moreover, if children read only books without communication with friends or family, they feel isolated. This means that only reading books might cause mental illnesses such as depression. So, it will affect children in a negative way. To sum up, even though reading books is helpful for children to have creativity, doing enjoyable activities is more important since it helps children to develop overall skills and originality.