Some People Say It Is Possible To Tell A Lot About A Person’s Culture From Their Choice Of Clothes

There are a number of people who opine that an individual’s personality and values can be deduced / inferred from the clothes they commonly wear. I do not fully agree with this view. People are not always able to wear clothes of their choice. For example, a young girl may be very modern in their outlook and may want to wear stylish, modern clothes; however, her parents may force her to wear very traditional garments. In this case, we cannot infer much about her culture or character from her clothing. Likewise, many Muslim girls are forced to wear a burka. This does not always mean that they are conservative. Sometimes, they have no other choice. In the same way, there is no guarantee that someone wearing very simple clothes is actually poor or uneducated. It could be a choice. Clothes can lie. Having said that, there are still a few things we can learn about a person from their style of clothing. For example, an impeccably dressed person usually pays great attention to detail. Likewise, people who prefer comfortable clothing to stylish wear may be easygoing and practical. In the same way, extravagant clothing may be a sign of vanity. To sum up, to some extent people ’s choice of clothing can reveal their nature. However, it is wrong to assume that we can fully deduce their culture or character from their choice of clothing. Oftentimes, people choose clothing dictated by the norms of society and those clothes do not reveal their character.