The number of old people is increasing in many countries. Some people think this causes problems, whilst other people think that old people have an important role to play. How far do you agree or disagree

The elderly population is on the rise in many nations across the world. It is argued by a few that this poses a problem, while others believe that this is a boon. In my opinion, I fully agree with the latter, as this group possesses a tremendous amount of experience and wisdom, which they impart to the younger generation. However, there might be some problems related to their health, but these can be curbed with the right steps. To begin with, wisdom is an important value which is learnt through experience. The elderly have years of experience which they use to navigate a myriad of problems. They also use this knowledge to guide their juniors encountering any issues, while simultaneously teaching them. As a result, leading managerial roles are occupied by the old guard. For instance, CEOs of multi-billion dollar companies are usually in their early 60s yet they manage their role effectively, while also grooming their successor. Despite the worries about the health of this demographic, the virtues old people help incorporate in today's children are far more beneficial than this worry. Nevertheless, problems in their well-being can be managed with proper geriatric care. Moreover, for many children with working parents, an elderly figure like their grandparents are their only source of learning important values like compassion, honesty, empathy, faithfulness, and others. In conclusion, I agree that old people are of paramount importance to society, as they have the gift of experience which cannot be bought. In turn, they pass on this quintessential knowledge further, which trumps any little troubles we may face.