Universities should accept equal numbers of males and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the number of students who are enrolled in institutions should be balanced in terms of gender for all subjects. I completely disagree with this proposal and I do believe that it is unpractical and unfair. On the one hand, it is improper to select students based on their gender alone/solely. The admission of candidates should be extended based on application as opposed to their genetic identity. There are some majors that are preferred by specific sexual groups. For example, girls are more likely to apply for majors including dance and nursing than their counterparts who are boys. Under such circumstances, it is unrealistic for these colleges to enrol the same number of males and females. On the other hand, it is truly against the requirements of equality. The recruitment of talents ought to put more emphasis on their ability, merit and interests. If we simply focus on gender, it would lead to the draining of those people who have a true aptitude. Such inequality and the loss of talented people would have a detrimental impact on academia as a whole. For instance, a female applicant is rejected solely as their enrollment restriction, in which they pursue an absolute balance between genders. Such a claim would give rise to unfairness in society. In conclusion, my view is that we are not supposed to choose students according to their genders and we should consider more elements when we enrol undergraduates including their academic performance, merits and their social experience.