Some people say that public libraries should be free; otherwise they are just a waste of money, especially because modern technologies and the Internet allow easy access to resources. Discuss and give your point of view.

In our modern world, along woth the advancments of technology and of the Internet, people nowadays can recieve any piece of information they want through the Web at home. As a result, some claim that having libraries that are free to the public is unnecessary. I disagree with this opinion and believe that free public libraries should be preserved. In this essay, I will discuss both view of this topic and will further explain my opinion. Firstly, having a free educational source for everyone creates an equal opportunity for the poor. Some families don' t have the financial privilage to afford advanced electronical devices, such as computers, or even can' t pay the Internet bill. This leads to many people spending their time in a public library in order to gain knowledge and study for school. For example, closing free of charge libraries will cause kids who's fortune isn' t at their favour fail school, which directly leads to not going to college and evantually unsuccessful job hunt. Consequently, preventing poor kids from library education is an unconscious discrimination in an unending circle where the unprivilaged privileged continue to be unprivilaged privileged. Moreover, no charge libraries can reduce the number of underage drinking and smoking. Teenagers have big amount of free time on their hands, although most cities don' t have a variety of activies for young adults. This leaves the youngsters with spare time where most of them being exposed to alchol, cigeretts and illegal drugs. Studies have shown that having a space that is available for everyone, no matter what it is, will make people enter that place. That means that keeping public libraries free and open will not only decrese the number of illegal drinking, but also gain youngsters great knowledge. Nevertheless, local citizens are concerned about their taxes going to an nonvital institue with no profit, such as public libraries, while other facilites needs to be priortized. An example of this issue is a mendatory place like a hospital that needs to go through construction in order to expand its capacity, while taxes are being paid to keep an outdated, useless building. Although the people's worries, I tend to concede and believe that library is also an important institue in each city, just as much as other vital places. In conclusion, I believe that the government should pay for free public libraries, based on financial and social reasons.