Nowadays, sports is a big business with high earnings for professional sports people and companies involved both financially and other ways. Is this a positive or negative development for sports? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Sports as an industry has been developing exponentially and attracting many young professionals worldwide. While this is a two edge sword, I believe the benefits outweigh the negatives. The two major areas that have benefitted from the above are finance and health.  Sports nowadays have become a worldwide event, with many countries participating in different types of sports and many companies sponsoring such events. I believe this has impacted the world in two-fold. First, players now can devote their working hours to progressing in their fields, without sacrificing money and income. Moreover, they can get rewarded with additional money the better they are at their game. An additional benefit that comes from this is that lots of people escaped poverty and low socioeconomic status due to being great athletes. As such, this field has been providing new opportunities for younger generations as a source of income thanks to the increasing finances it has provided. Micheal B Jordan is a great example as he grew up in poverty and has become one of the wealthiest individuals in the world, due to excelling in basketball. The other benefit of developing athleticism as a business is that companies are focusing more on athlete wear and advertisements for the public. This awareness has improved the general population's attraction to exercise and health. We see more people lifting weights, running, and getting into certain activities as a hobby, which in turn improves the general population's health habits and awareness. For instance, schools have mandated physical activity periods and universities have been providing scholarships to individuals who excel physically. To summarize, the advances in athleticism have been improving people's lives by being a source of income for those who excel in it and inspiring the general population to have healthier habits.