Historical objects should be brought back to their country of origin. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people opine that the historical artefacts should be returned to the country of origin which were captured during wars or colonialization while others argue that they should remain where it is right now. I agree with the former view and this essay will discuss the reasons in brief. Firstly, many people have sentiments and emotions attached to the objects which were taken away from their country in the past. Besides, this exhibits the nation's history and cultural values too. For instance, during British rule in India, the idol of Lord Vishnu was stolen from the temple and is now being displayed in a museum in London. Many people believe that the ideal place for the statue should be the temple from where it was stolen rather than a museum. Due to this many Indian citizens are putting pressure on the government to bring those items back. Secondly, these items can be used as a remedy for building and improving the relationship between the two countries. Also, it helps to bring peace and harmony between them. For example, when the ties between France and Egypt were not at their best, the Prime minister of France decided to return mummies which were captured during World War I to Egypt in order to normalise their relationship. Due to this gesture of goodwill, bilateral talks resumed between these two sovereign states after a decade. To conclude, bringing back historical artefacts not only boost the relationship between states but also brings happiness to society as many sentiments and cultural values are attached to it.