The increased use of text messaging using mobile phones is largely to blame for the falling standards in written English, particularly among young people, many of whom are unable to construct grammatically correct sentences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this modernized era, mobile phones are an everyday necessity. The last decade has seen a considerable increase in the number of people using mobile phones. Now, there are barely any being left on the earth to not use mobile phones. Consequently, with increased users, texting has become quite common and is a highly debatable topic. One group consider it as a fallacious trend and another descends the same. However, I found myself agreeing with the statement and considering it as a negative trend that is going on. To begin with, people used to write letters in the previous times which they read several times before sending them to anybody. They don' t have auto-correct features to automatically correct their sentences or spellings. Now as there is advancement in technology features like auto-correct, and word guessing, Emojis are there which sometimes apply automatically when we start typing something. Although these features are useful in normal life, in the long run, we actually, are forgetting correct spellings and sentence formations. Secondly, teenagers nowadays are using lots of slang to express their feelings which don' t even require writing full sentences. For instance, LOL has lots of laughter, and many of them don' t even know laughter's spelling as they don' t have to write it. Moreover, Emojis available in chats express different feelings as youngsters don' t have to put them in words now. All these factors contribute to falling standards. On the other hand, people who think that texting is easy, often think that it is time-saving for them. They are of the opinion that if the software is there to correct them why put in extra effort? But, they don' t know how it will impact upcoming generations. The generations coming in future will not even know how to put forth their feelings into correct words. To conclude, I would reaffirm my opinion that texting has downgraded writing skills. Teenagers are now more dependent on mobile phone features rather than using their own knowledge and skills.