Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to the local practices and customs. To what extent to do you agree?

There is a debate on how much one should evolve in terms of behavior and lifestyle when one moves to another country. Some people are of belief that it is healthy to adapt to another culture as it aids in smooth amalgmation into the new society and helps in individual growth. However, I believe while it is important to be flexible in your practices it is paramount that people retain their unique identity as it defines who they truly are and gives a new perspective to the existing culture. The advantage of adapting into the new culture makes it easier for one to blend into new society as one quickly becomes accustomed to the food, routine and festivities of the new world. For instance, when i moved to Pakistan I had to unlearn my culture back home to be able to make friends easily and avoid frequent spells of homesickness. Also it helps in individual growth as one sees how insignifcant some rigid customs in our culture can be when viewed from global lens. The disadvantages are that in the process of adaptation one forgoes his or her roots, the breath of fresh air that a new culture can bring into an exisiting one is lost. Furthermore, in the pursuit of blending one might start feeling unhappy for not being true to themselves. This can take a toll on the mental health and have dire consequences. In conclusion, while it is important to be flexible and easy going when it comes to practices as it helps in better adaption which is a major life skill and also a great asset in todays hyperglobalized hyper globalised world one needs to make sure to be true to themselves in the entire process and take their unique roots and culture wherever they may go. Finding the right balance between the extremes is the right way to go about it.