bicycle iS more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport why is it still not popular at many places? what a can be done to increase popularity of cycling ?

The utilization of bicycles for daily commutes is still limited in many parts of the world, despite its benefits to the environment. This essay will elaborate main factors responsible for the lack of popularity of bicycles along with some solutions that could be proposed to promote the usage of bicycles. One main reason why cycling is still unpopular in many places is the issue related to the safety of riders. Owing to the lack of designated lanes for cycling especially in cities with heavy traffic, riders could share the roads with fast modes of transportation, resulting immense amount of accidents. Furthermore, weather conditions, such as rain or extreme heat, also make cycling inconvenient for daily commutes. Additionally, cycling could also be an extremely time-consuming activity. In this hustle and bustle span, Everyone is getting busier than in the past, individuals tend to spend less time on transport as possible. Cycling also requires greater physical effort. Consequently, they would rather utilize alternative vehicles, such as motorbikes or cars, which would take less time. However, the Government can still foster the popularity of bicycles. The first solution would be to make it more costly to own motorbikes or a car. This can be done by increasing the price of petrol or raising the tax on these vehicles, which result, in a significant amount of people choosing bicycles for day-to-day life. Additionally, the regime could perhaps develop a deliciated cycling infrastructure with a separate network of cycle paths and lanes; Therefore, riding a bicycle will become more comfortable and convenient. In conclusion, the lack of popularity of bicycles can mainly be linked to safety and timing constraints and people cannot be encouraged to switch to this made until it becomes safer and faster by developing appropriate infrastructures.