In some countries, there are fewer young people who listen to or play classical music these days. Why is this? Should young people be encouraged to play or perform classical music?

There is no doubt that young generations have not been interested in listening to or playing classical music in recent times. In this essay, I will discuss the reason behind this common trend among teenagers, and explain why I believe more encouragement for classical music consumption should be given to them. Firstly, teenagers have little contact with this musical style today because producers have not been investing much money in classical artists lately. This is because the music industry has considerably changed, and people started to consume more rock, pop, and electronic music, which are widely promoted in the media, especially on TV and on the Internet. For example, as youngsters usually spend a significant amount of time online, they will receive plenty of advertisements for recent hits, which are usually pop songs of fortunate American singers. As a result, teenagers end up with little information about classical music, which seems to be forgotten in today`s music industry. Although this concerning trend has been affecting the whole world, young generations should definitely be encouraged to consume classical music. This is due to the positive impact that such music style could play on their intellectual and social development. For instance, the habit of listening to classical music can boost a teenager's knowledge of different times, learning about the historical and cultural aspects behind the lyrics. Additionally, it can also improve their social skills when communicating with elderlies, who usually are highly into classical music, being able to share this common interest. Therefore, encouraging teenagers to either listen to or play this type of music can help their growth into adult life. To sum up, the lack of interest in classical music by the Industry is leading young generations to stop its consumption. However, they should be motivated to consume it in order to develop social and intellectual skills.