Many today feel that attention spans are becoming shorter due to the prevalence of social media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the technological era of the world, with the growing development of the internet, social media is becoming ubiquitous in our society. However, it is often thought to be a rationale for the cause of short attention spans among people. Personally, I completely agree with this notion because of the reasons which will be discussed in the essay. On the one hand, the way social media delivers information to everyone imposes a constraint on our focus ability. Provided that books are the tools that help us obtain profound knowledge in specific fields. Social media are a magnificent place where huge amounts of information from a myriad of fields such as economics, politics,.. are stored. Notwithstanding that books have abundant data, they positively foster our attention spans as they promote our minds to stay focused on particular objectives. While in social media, data is various including unnecessary info when our mind's function is to focus on specific tasks. Consequently, the capability of concentrating on particular fields is likely diminished. On the other hand, social media play a role as distractions in our day. These platforms such as Facebook, Instagram,…. are designed to help us gain information effortlessly with only a straightforward action such as Scrolling. This has led to a culture of instant gratification, where we are conditioned to expect everything at the click of a button. Consequently, we become impatient when we are presented with information that requires a longer attention span, such as reading a book or watching a documentary. In conclusion, applying the aforementioned points above, social media have an adverse effect on our capability of concentrating, leading to a lessened amount of scrutiny spans