Many parents give jobs to their children to do around the house in order to develop their characters and self-sufficiency. Discuss this idea and give your own opinion.

It is said that house duties can build children's personality and independence. In my opinion, I totally agree with this point of view. There are several reasons why doing household chores builds young people’s personality traits. Firstly, it can develop their diligence and persistence as chores include a number of details such as cooking, laundry or cleaning, and they have to be patient, organizable and time-manageable to fulfil all those things. Secondly, children may become responsible as they are aware of their duties at home, and respect the value of their labour. Finally, doing jobs at home keeps teenagers occupied rather than spending too much time on technological gadgets or gathering with bad fellows. Those young people, therefore,stay away from bad habits, and they will probably become elite members of society. I also believe that it is important to give the young family obligations so that they can be self-sufficient. There will be a time when offspring have to leave their families and start their new lives, and I am pretty sure that young people who know doing chores can be independent when staying alone. I remember being assigned to do house jobs after my class time when I was a schoolgirl, and I found it helpful when I got married and had babies. If young people do not know how to do such things, they cannot take care of themselves and their loved ones, and this can affect their happiness later on. In conclusion, my view is that housework benefits children in growing both individuality and independence, and parents should encourage their offspring to do so as soon as possible.